Canadian Rocky Mountains

Renowned for their scenic splendor, the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks are comprised of Banff, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho National Parks. In 1984 these parks have been accepted as part of the World Heritage Site, Canadian Rockies. With rugged mountain peaks, icefields and glaciers, alpine meadows, lakes, waterfalls, the Canadian Rockies possess exceptional natural beauty.

The most significant icefield is the Columbia Icefield, the largest in North America’s subarctic interior. Covering nearly 325 square km, the icefield spans the Continental Divide and the boundary between Jasper and Banff National Parks. Its meltwater feeds streams and rivers that pour into the Arctic, Atlantic, and Pacific oceans.

Mammals in the Rockies include mountain goat, bighorn sheep,  moose, deer, caribou, grey wolf, grizzly bear, black bear, wolverine, lynx and puma.

Icefields Parkway

For 230 kilometers, from Lake Louise to Jasper, the Parkway winds along the shoulder of the Great Divide and passes by the spectacular mountains of the Eastern Main Ranges of the Canadian Rockies. Considered one of the most scenic highways in the world, the Icefields Parkway offers an ever-changing view of waterfalls, emerald lakes, alpine meadows and snow-capped peaks. Frequent roadside viewpoints and interpretive exhibits along with picnic sites and trail heads invite travelers to admire the views and explore this marvelous landscape. With our tour groups we also cycle the Bow Valley Parkway at the southern end of the Icefields Parkway and at its northern end from Maligne Lake back to Jasper – both of them also very popular with cyclists.

Icefields Parkway map

Rocky Mountains Map.

This page is also available in: German